Getting Started

Note: This page is still a work in progress!

When it comes to getting started with a move to a vegan lifestyle it can seem a little daunting, it did for me especially and I often get asked “How can I become a vegan” and thought this page would be a great place to share some of the things that helped me in my transition to a vegan diet and lifestyle.

Why Should I Become Vegan?

Resources

Milk

There are so many different kinds of milk available these days, Soy, Coconut, Nut, Rice there is such a wide variety

  • Alpro
  • Oatly
  • Plenish
  • Koko Dairy Free
  • Provamel
  • Good Hemp
  • Rude Health

Chocolate, Ice Cream & Deserts

As with milk chocolate is available in a vegan form and is becoming more and more widespread all the time, but you do need to know where to look to be able to get it.

  • Booja Booja
  • MiiRO
  • Ombar
  • Northern Bloc
  • Ms Cupcake
  • Freaks of Nature
  • Swedish Glace
  • Ben & Jerry’s
  • Magnum
  • Coconut Collaborative
  • Yorica
  • Alpro
  • Wicked
  • Plamil
  • Supermarket own label

Mayo

  • Rubies in the Rubble
  • Follow Your Heart
  • Granovita
  • Plamil
  • Hellman’s Vegan Mayo

Sugar

In the US white sugar can be made using animal bone char also brown sugar might be just white sugar mixed with molasses.

Eating Out

Eating out can be really tough, especially when you are just transitioning to a vegan diet, however, there are some tips that could make that experience a little easier.

  • Phone Ahead – It is always good to phone ahead where possible, most places will be accommodating
  • Check the menu – If there is a menu online check that for the options they have that would suit and sometimes you could just ask for one thing to be removed.

Things To Avoid

  • Casein – from milk (a protein)
  • Lactose – from milk (a sugar)
  • Whey – from milk. Whey powder is in many products, look out for it in crisps, bread and baked products etc.
  • Collagen – from the skin, bones, and connective tissues of animals such as cows, chickens, pigs, and fish – used in cosmetics
  • Elastin – found in the neck ligaments and aorta of bovine, similar to collagen
  • Keratin – from the skin, bones, and connective tissues of animals such as cows, chickens, pigs, and fish
  • Gelatine/gelatin – obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones and is usually from cows or pigs. Used in jelly, chewy sweets, cakes, and in vitamins; as coating/capsules
  • Aspic – industry alternative to gelatine; made from clarified meat, fish or vegetable stocks and gelatine
  • Lard/tallow – animal fat
  • Shellac – obtained from the bodies of the female scale insect Tachardia lacca
  • Honey – food for bees, made by bees
  • Propolis – used by bees in the construction of their hives
  • Royal Jelly – secretion of the throat gland of the honeybee
  • Vitamin D3 – from fish-liver oil; in creams, lotions and other cosmetics
  • Albumen/albumin – from egg (typically)
  • Isinglass – a substance obtained from the dried swim bladders of fish, and is used mainly for the clarification of wine and beer
  • Cod liver oil – in lubricating creams and lotions, vitamins and supplements
  • Pepsin – from the stomachs of pigs, a clotting agent used in vitamins
  • Glycerin(e)/glycerollactic acidmono or diglycerides, and stearic acid can all be from slaughterhouse fat, but could also be vegan. If they are plant-derived then it should say so on the label.
  • E120: Carmine, also known as cochineal, carminic acid or natural red 4. Crushed up beetles used as red food colouring
  • E441: Gelatine. A gelling agent made from ground up animal bone and skin, often found in confectionery
  • E542: Bone phosphate. Ground up animal bones used to keep foods moist
  • E901: Beeswax. As the name suggests, this is wax that’s made by bees, and is used as a glazing agent
  • E904: Shellac. Another glazing agent, made from the secretions of an insect called the lac bug
  • E910, E920, E921: L-cysteine and its derivatives. Made from animal hair and feathers, these additives are found in some breads as an improving agent
  • E913: Lanolin. A greasy substance secreted by sheep and other woolly animals. While mostly used in cosmetics, it’s also often used to make vitamin D3, rendering many multi-vitamins and fortified foods unsuitable for vegans
  • E966: Lactitol. A sweetener derived from lactose, which is made from milk

Source: Veganuary

Mobile Phone Apps

  • Happy Cow
  • Spoon iOS | Android